The Wool Hats is a Connecticut based bluegrass/jamgrass band. Built upon a driving rhythm section, the trio of lead instruments weaves intricate melodic spaces while the vocal harmonies add to the warmth and richness of their sound. Their repertoire includes bluegrass classics and unique interpretations of classic rock material, as well as well-crafted originals. A fresh voice for our times, The Wool Hats are thrilling and charming audiences throughout Connecticut. 


 “The Wool Hats’ approach to Bluegrass draws on a post-modern sensibility integrating many influences into a unique expression. Classic rock, jamgrass, funk, folk and a healthy dose of musical humor come together to create what might best be termed “Dudegrass” music. You just have to check them out to see what I am talking about.”


The band came together when Matt Chimini and Ryan Mooney, who were performing as an acoustic duo, met long time musical partners, Nick Krashefski and Johnny Lee, at an open mic in Seymour. It became clear that their sounds complimented one another and soon they were performing as a four piece. Not long after coming together, Johnny invited his long-time friend, Erick Feucht, to round out their sound. Together, their style fuses bluegrass, newgrass, classic country, rock, blues and other acoustic influences. They have performed at many venues and festivals, including the Pickin’ at the Ives Bluegrass Festival (CT), Infinity Hall in Norfolk CT, Daryl's House Club in Pawling NY, Strand Ole Opry (CT), The Acoustic (CT), Georgetown Day (CT), the Johnny Cakes Festival (RI) and Spinstock (CT). 

In 2023 Matt, Nick & Ryan left the band, and Johnny and Erick brought in John Kaluzinski on vocals and guitar, and James Bettincourt on bass. Remaining true to their eclectic roots, this new lineup continues to explore the musical frontiers of improvisational acoustic string band music. 

Currently calling Newtown, CT home, The Wool Hats String Band is Johnny Lee (vocals/mandolin/harmonica), Erick Feucht (vocals/fiddle/mandolin/tenor banjo), John Kaluzinski (vocals/rhythm guitar), and James Bettincourt (bass).